CONSULAR CLINICS:Port Elizabeth 6th November 2021.

About Malawi

 The Republic of Malawi is a landlocked country bordered by Zambia, Tanzania and Mozambique. Malawi covers an area of 118,480 km2.

The population of Malawi is 14 million, according to the 2010 Malawi National Population Census. The people of Malawi speak English, and vernacular languages including Chichewa, Lomwe, Yao, Tumbuka and others.

Malawi has a sub tropical climate. The wet season is typically from November to April and the cool-dry season is from May to August. During this period temperatures range between 17 and 27 Celsius. The hot-dry seasons occur between September and October, when temperatures range between 25 and 37 Celsius.

Malawi is serviced by two international airports, namely: Kamuzu International Airport in Lilongwe and Chileka International Airport in Blantyre. Tarmac roads connect the airports and key borders to all major cities and towns in Malawi.

The unit of currency in Malawi is the Kwacha, divided in 100 tambala. Currency notes are in denominations of K1000, K500, K200, K100, K50, K20.

Foreign currency and traveller’s cheques can be exchanged at banks, some tourist hotels and lodges and bureaux de changes.
Major credit cards are accepted in major hotels and restaurants.

Banking hours are 08.00 to 15.00 Monday to Friday. Some banks are open on Saturdays from 8:00 am to 11:00am.


The Consulate General is open Mondays to Fridays
Monday 9.00a.m. to 1.00p.m
Tuesday 9.00a.m. to 1.00p.m
Wednesday Closed for out-of-duty station assignments
Thursday 9.00a.m. to 1.00p.m
Friday 9.00a.m. to 12.00p.m

The Malawi Consulate General is closed on both
South African and Malawian public holidays.


Postal address is:

Box 3881

Physical Address:

4 Dodge Street
Woodmead Ext 4
2157, Sandton.

Telephone numbers:

(+27) 11 234 8577
(+27) 11 803 4919


Email address: